Why I Am A Feminist

Published October 30, 2012 by melissamaree

I Am A Feminist Because …

I am angry at the way I have been treated by men.
I am tired of being told that I should not stand up for my rights because men do not find that attractive.
I will not teach my daughters to “get used to” sexist behaviour.
I want to be me, I will not conform to standards that dictate how a woman should act, think or feel.
I cry when I see women in other countries denied their basic rights just because they are female.

I Am A Feminist Because …

I will not deny my femininity and act more “manly” because a man tells me I should.
I am not anyone’s slave.
I am not inferior.
The rising rates of violence against women offends me.
I will not be victimised.

I Am A Feminist Because …

I am tired of ignorance.
I refuse to be made to feel small, I am powerful.
I am not a dependant little mouse who needs a man to survive.
I want to feel safe.
I want to be valued for who I am, not downgraded because of my gender.
I Am A Feminist Because … If I do twice as much work as a man then I think I should get twice as much credit.
I think all people are equal.
The attitudes I see in the men around me are offensive!
I am not afraid to fight for what I deserve.
I am not ashamed of being a woman.
I Am A Feminist Because

I am tired of victim blaming.
I deserve respect.
My opinions are just as valuable as the opinions of any man.
I don’t want to be afraid anymore.
I am more than just a body.

2 comments on “Why I Am A Feminist

  • Leave a Reply

